Road To Power Struggle: NJPW October 23rd Analysis

NEVER Openweight 6-Man Takes Center Stage
Moments After The Road To Power Struggle October 23, 2020 Marquee Match Began via New Japan Pro Wrestling

The marquee match of the October 23, 2020 Road to Power Struggle event saw CHAOS members Hirooki Goto, “Stone Pitbull” Tomohiro Ishii, and Yoshi-Hashi make their V2 defense of the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship against the Suzuki-Gun team of Dangerous Tekkers (Zack Sabre Jr/Taichi), who are the reigning IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champions and Douki.

The match came about after a wounded Douki was tossed on Yoshi-Hashi for the fall during the G1 Climax 30 Finals event after Dangerous Tekkers used their Zack Mephisto technique. 

In what was arguably the best NEVER 6-Man Tag Team Championship title match, the two teams traded the advantage, driven by Suzuki-Gun’s belief that Yoshi-Hashi shouldn’t be taken seriously.

The back and forth match saw Douki gain several near falls on Yoshi-Hashi, while the other four competitors battled to ensure a flash fall didn’t cost their side the match.

Yoshi-Hashi was able to secure the fall at the 32 minutes and 25 seconds mark, setting a NEVER Openweight 6-Man Championship record; with his Karma technique. Yoshi-Hashi would go on to lay down a challenge towards the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champions, saying he would like to collect another title.

The headline match saw the Los Ingobernables de Japon (LIJ) team of IWGP Heavyweight and IWGP Intercontinental ‘Double Champion’ Tetsuya Naito and Sanada face the Bullet Club team of former ‘Double Champion’ Evil and “The Spoiler” Dick Togo.

Naito defends the ‘Double Championship’ against Evil at Power Struggle on November 7, 2020. Sanada was coming off nearly defeating “Golden Star” Kota Ibushi and winning G1 Climax 30. He would return to his winning ways by gaining the submission fall over Togo at the 11 minutes and 58 seconds mark.

The fourth match saw the former IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship team of Golden Ace (Kota Ibushi/Hiroshi Tanahashi) team join former IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Tomoaki Honma against the Bullet Club team of “Switchblade” Jay White, Kenta, and Gedo.

Ibushi continued his hot streak after winning G1 Climax 30 and pinned Gedo at the 10 minutes and 36 seconds mark with his Kamigoye technique.

The third match saw the LIJ team of Hiromu Takahashi, Shingo Takagi, and Bushi defeat the Suzuki-Gun contingent of NEVER Openweight Champion Minoru Suzuki and current IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion El Desperado/Yoshinobu Kanemaru at the 12 minutes and 51 seconds mark when Takagi gained the fall over Kanemaru with his Pumping Bomber Lariat technique.

Takagi makes the V1 challenge in Suzuki’s second reign with the NEVER Openweight Champion during Power Struggle on November 7th.

The second match saw Empire members Will Ospreay and Great O-Khan defeat New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW) Los Angeles (LA) Dojo Young Lion Gabriel Kidd and CHAOS member Kazuchika Okada. O-Khan gained the fall at the 10 minutes and 17 seconds mark over Kidd with his Eliminator technique.

The opening match saw NJPW Noge Dojo Young Lion Yuya Uemura and Yota Tsuji face other another. Uemura was able to gain the fall at the 9 minutes and 9 seconds mark with his Double Overhook Suplex technique.


New Japan Pro WrestlingNJPWPower StruggleRoad To Power Struggle
Comments (0)
Add Comment